Beginning Mindfulness Meditation

Cultivating Mindfulness_Meditation_tree_oliwinward

I may have put the cart in front of the horse with my past few blogs. Talking directly about how mindfulness has helped me in my day-to-day activities was explained to hopefully build your interest into the many BENEFITS that practicing mindfulness can provide. I hope your infatuation with this topic has grown to the point where you have curiosity about how to do mindfulness mediation, and are willing to give it a try.

There are many websites and blogs in which you can find tips, strategies, and explanations on how to do mindfulness mediations. From body scans to simple breath meditations, there are many ways in which you can clear your mind using mindfulness techniques. The internet is loaded with an incredible amount of research and websites devoted to mindfulness, and there is substantial evidence to support the claims that mindfulness can improve your life.

The biggest pressure I felt when first doing mindfulness meditation is, “how do you do it?” and “am I doing this wrong?” It was very difficult to clear my mind, and to view my thoughts without judgment. The biggest tip I got from Professor Kuechler was that when practicing mindfulness is: “you are not your thoughts,” and “it’s not good nor bad, it just is.” He told us to imagine our thoughts and emotions and clouds passing in the wind. As a thought comes into your head, do not hold on to it; allow the breeze to let it pass on by.

Being nonjudgmental is one of the biggest components of mindfulness meditation. It is what allows you to view your thoughts, opinions, and actions from an outside perspective, and can help provide clarity in difficult situations. I believe it is in these nonjudgmental moments that I have my clearest and deepest thoughts, which have given me an incredible perspective to my memories and experiences.

I currently do my daily mediations in the morning. It is very important to make it a part of your daily routine, and you’re more likely to continue meditations if you set aside a specific time every day to do it. I usually sit in my classroom at my desk, (or even in my car in the parking lot), and do my breath meditation for 15-20 minutes per day. I have done longer meditations when time allows, but I have found that on even my most stressful days, even 5-10 minutes of meditation can be extremely beneficial.

There are several guided meditations you can find on YouTube, and they are a good introduction to mindfulness mediation if you want to experiment with this at home or in your office. Currently, I use the MINDFULNESS APP that I downloaded from Itunes on my Iphone, and I have been very pleased with it.

mindfulness app

It makes my guided meditations highly portable, and you can listen along with headphones, or even using your speakerphone. It has many different functions, and you can select guided meditations that range from 5 to 40 minutes long. It was only $1.99 and I highly recommend it to anyone wishing to explore mindfulness meditations further.

I challenge you to try mindfulness meditations for at least five days. You will feel a change come about your personality, and your stress level will reduce. Please contact me if I you would like any more advice, resources, or encouragement. Like anything worthwhile, it is difficult to start, but it is well worth the reward!

One thought on “Beginning Mindfulness Meditation

  1. Pingback: The Mindful Difference | Mind-FULL

Leave a Reply

